Stacks Image 23

Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

We implement the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum covering the 7 areas of learning. Which is a play based curriculum and children can access a wide range of activities both inside and outside.
The EYFS seeks to provide:
Quality and Consistency in all early years settings, so that every child makes good progress and no child gets left behind;
A Secure Foundation through learning and development opportunities which are planned around the needs and interests of each individual child and are assessed and reviewed regularly;
Partnership Working between practitioners and with parents and/or carers;
Equality of Opportunity and anti-discriminatory practice, ensuring that every child is included and supported.
Stacks Image 16

Overarching Principles:

Four guiding principles should shape practice in early years settings. These are:

• Every child is a
unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured;
• Children learn to be strong and independent through
positive relationships;
• Children learn and develop well in
enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers; and
Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities

The Areas of Learning and Development:

There are seven areas of learning and development that must shape educational programmes in early years settings. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.
These three areas, the
prime areas, are:
  • Communication and language; physical development; and personal, social and emotional development.
Providers must also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:
  • Literacy; mathematics; understanding the world; and expressive arts and design.